Team ///SK/// Index du Forum Team ///SK///
Team de FPS
 
 FAQFAQ   RechercherRechercher   MembresMembres   GroupesGroupes   S’enregistrerS’enregistrer 
 ProfilProfil   Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés   ConnexionConnexion 

A Land Without Borders My Journey Around East Jerusalem A

 
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet    Team ///SK/// Index du Forum -> Team ///SK/// -> Sujet divers
Sujet précédent :: Sujet suivant  
Auteur Message
delval


Hors ligne

Inscrit le: 04 Avr 2016
Messages: 116
Localisation: Milano
Masculin
Point(s): 116
Moyenne de points: 1,00

MessagePosté le: Mar 4 Juil - 22:59 (2017)    Sujet du message: A Land Without Borders My Journey Around East Jerusalem A Répondre en citant




"From horror to fatigue to indifference, an important look forward and back that provides a grass-roots sense... An honest and troubling snapshot of Israel—both Palestinian and Israeli—that reveals the creeping realization that a two-state solution may no longer be possible."—Kirkus (starred review)<BR>
Throughout their youth Nir Baram’s generation were bombarded with news about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict—the injustices, the wrongdoings, the killings. Over the decades, the horror and despair had become habit—he noticed people had begun to give up on the possibility of resolution. Yet, as Baram notes, ‘the vast majority of Israelis—as well as international onlookers— know next to nothing about life on the West Bank, the area at the heart of the conflict they have spent their adult lives dissecting’. Most have never visited the occupied territories, and thus ‘the debate revolves around a theoretical, ill-defined area sketched out in our political imagination.’

This book of reportage emerged from the author’s realization that Israel is separated from the West Bank not only by checkpoints but also, more significantly, by a cognitive barrier. And so began his quest to understand the occupation from both sides. The result is an essential and nuanced journey through places and experiences that receive little coverage.

Baram, widely considered one of the most important intellectual voices in Israel today, faces painful challenges to his personal political views and his hopes for a more peaceful future.

Nir Baram has worked as a journalist, editor, and advocate for Palestinian rights. He is the author of five novels in Hebrew. In 2010 he received the Prime Minister’s Award for Hebrew Literature.
<BR>








A Land Without Borders: My Journey Around East Jerusalem and the West Bank book format djvu A Land Without Borders: My Journey Around East Jerusalem and the West Bank full version download





20%off The Face of War Martha Gellhorn 08 Jul 2016 Paperback 12,28 15,49 Save 3,21 Add to basket 26%off The Morning They Came for Us Janine Di Giovanni 23 Feb 2017 Paperback 9,20 12,49 Save 3,29 Add to basket And what he hears is total and irreconcilable differenceGood People is a richly textured panorama of German and Russian lifeThis ample novel lives most memorably through Baram&rsquo;s vignettes of people, dwellings, cities, landscapes and the like that seem to lie, at times, at the periphery of its central concernsWhen he asks Palestinians where they&rsquo;re from, they typically don&rsquo;t identify the town where they live: they name the place where their family lived before 1948, in what is now Israel, even if they have never actually been there33%off The Sun Tyrant JNew walls, checkpoints, and rules increasingly separate Jews and Palestinians, even those living in close proximity, making life ever more difficult for the latterMost unsettling, for me, were the testimonies of some settlers in the so-called Occupied Territories because they were people that I found I could like and even, in any other context, respect for the "content of their character", to use Martin Luther King's termKirkus ReviewNew Zealand Listener on Good PeopleHe defends a pro-settlement Zionism, but Dayan also realizes that Palestinians largely see Israel as a colonialist project, not as the historic Jewish homelandBut it's not well written, or the translation isn't goodIt is quintessential reading.Dominion PostThis is essential reading for those who wish to understand the Israeli-Palestinian conflictand for those who already think they do.AustralianTo hear it from the people who currently live in the occupied territories650,000 Jewish settlers and 27 million Palestiniansit is now as much a zero-sum game as everLike, for instance, how happened that in Betlehem the percentage of Chrisian Arabs decreased, a fact noticed by the author but not worth In the tradition of Amos Oz and David Grossman, Nir Baram is visiting Palestinian villages and inquires about what future stays ahead for the relations between Israel and the PalestiniansThe book is very well written and much of it is on the basis of interviews with ordinary (and not so ordinary) people throughout the countryLike David Grossman and Amos Oz before him, Baram cuts through the propagandist posturing of both sides to speak to the real players: the everyday people in East Jerusalem and the West Bank - Palestinians, Israeli Arabs, Jews, settlers, soldiers, peaceniks, agitators - who have to live inside the stormSome slices of Palestinian Jerusalem have become a virtual no-man&rsquo;s-land where authority is ambiguous and where there are practically no municipal servicesOne of the most intriguing writers in Israeli literature today 48a4f088c3


Jessica Lee Cohen is Associate Professor of Global Health at the Harvard School of Public Health, Affiliated Professor at the Jameel-Poverty Action Lab&nbsp;...
View Jessica Cohen's professional profile on LinkedInHas one brother, Seth (19) ..Photograph of Jessica CohenScience 319, 1264–1267 ..
Door to Death #5Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society, Vol. 7 (Classic Reprint) Massachusetts Historical SocietyIngrid Bergman: Ein Leben (German Edition)Dog Training: The Art of Training Your Dog and Becoming Their Best Friend, Mentor and CompanionAdopter Un Zombie: Guide exhaustif ou presque (French Edition)Comic Pages BlankJe bent in China!: Het Suzhou decennium - Deel II (Dutch Edition)Comic Books for Girls: An 8.5 x 11 Art SketchbookCats: 150 page lined notebookOld Times in Dixie Land: A Southern Matron's Memories


Revenir en haut
Publicité






MessagePosté le: Mar 4 Juil - 22:59 (2017)    Sujet du message: Publicité

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Revenir en haut
Montrer les messages depuis:   
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet    Team ///SK/// Index du Forum -> Team ///SK/// -> Sujet divers Toutes les heures sont au format GMT + 1 Heure
Page 1 sur 1

 
Sauter vers:  

Portail | Index | Panneau d’administration | Creer un forum | Forum gratuit d’entraide | Annuaire des forums gratuits | Signaler une violation | Conditions générales d'utilisation

Template Vietcong by Bluck & dav.bo
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Traduction par : phpBB-fr.com